Gerald Samuel, Operator of the Year Award

Gerald Samuel - Operator of the Year Award

Municipal officials, plant managers, or any member of the Alberta Water and Wastewater Operators Association may submit nominations for Operator of the Year Award. The nomination must include information on candidate's contributions to the water and/or wastewater industry, as well as other pertinent details that make for a good award candidate.

Nomination Guidelines

  • The candidate must be a "member of good standing" of the Alberta Water and Wastewater Operators Association.
  • The candidate must have demonstrated exemplary service to the water and/or wastewater operations field over an extended period of time.

If you are interested in nominating an individual for Operator of the Year, please send a one-page written submission for the nominee to:

10806-119 Street
Edmonton, AB, T5H 3P2

or email to

Nomination deadline is January 31 for any given year. Awards are presented at the annual Operators Seminar Banquet in March.

Past Recipients

Year   Name   Representing  
2016 Curtis Remeika Strathcona County
2015 John Zacharias Mackenzie County
2014 Curtis Schultz Aquatera
2013 Steve Solic   EPCOR Taber
2012 Doug Renwick Aquatera
2011 Dwayne Cikaluk Alberta Capital Region Wastewater Commission                                     
2010 John Girhiny EPCOR Edmonton
2009 Randy Cyba Vegreville
2008 Keith Straub High Level
2007 Kerry Clark EPCOR Edmonton
2006 Gordon Fournier Drumheller
2005 Malcolm A. McKinnon   Standard
2004 Gordon Miller Rocky View Water Co-op
2003 Randy Reaman Red Deer
2002 Harold Lewis Vulcan
2001 Bob Einarson Rocky Mountain House
2000 Karen Waldick Linden
1999 Bruce MacLennan Rosemary
1998 Barry Brookes Red Deer
1997 Andy Maguire Edmonton
1996 Bob Quinn Calgary
1995 John White Granum
1994 Brent Applegate Wandering River
1993 Ernie Formanek St. Paul
1992 Ken Osepchuk Smokey Lake
1991 Guy Jette Fort McMurray
1990 John Thoma Fairview
1989 Albert Bourton Valleyview
1988 Burton Hingley Lomond
1987 Barry Parker Swan Hills
1986 Lyman "Sonny" Crowther   Whitecourt
1985 Denis R. Grey Nanton
1984 Steve Blonsky High Prairie